About the Coalition

About the Coalition for Sugar Reform

The Coalition for Sugar Reform is an alliance of consumer, food and beverage manufacturers, trade advocacy, environmental, taxpayer watchdog organizations, responsible government advocates, think tanks and other interests. The Coalition’s objective is to bring about reform and change to the federal government’s overly restrictive sugar program that has increasingly failed to provide adequate supplies of sugar to the U.S. market.

Our Mission

The Coalition’s mission is to promote reform of the U.S. sugar program. The Coalition opposes the current program because it is designed to make use of every possible federal government apparatus to impede the U.S. sugar market from operating efficiently, and relies on production controls and import quotas to keep domestic prices artificially higher than world sugar prices.

Supporting Reform of the U.S. Sugar Program

The Coalition for Sugar Reform seeks to educate members of Congress and the Administration about the real effects of current sugar policies on U.S. jobs, consumers, trade opportunities and the environment. The Coalition supports market-oriented reforms to the sugar program and is actively involved in legislative and/or regulatory initiatives that may provide opportunities to improve U.S. sugar policy so it works for consumers, food manufacturers, producers, taxpayers and the environment.

Specifically, the Coalition supports various sugar reform legislation, including the following:

  • Sugar Reform Act of 2013

    • S. 345: Introduced by Sens. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Mark Kirk (R-IL), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Rob Portman (R-OH), Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Bob Corker (R-TN), Kelly Ayotte (R-NH) and Lamar Alexander (R-TN) on February 14, 2013
    • H.R. 693: Introduced by Reps. Joe Pitts (R-PA), Danny Davis (D-IL), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) on February 14, 2013

We urge members of the 113th Congress to support legislation this year to reform the U.S. sugar program and benefit American consumers, businesses and workers. In addition, we encourage members to join the Congressional Sugar Reform Caucus, which is co-chaired by Sen. Jeanne Shaheen, Sen. Mark Kirk, Rep. Joe Pitts and Rep. Danny Davis. This bipartisan, bicameral Congressional Caucus promotes dialogue and education regarding legislative, regulatory and trade issues affecting federal sugar programs and policy.

© Copyright 2017